image displayed if flash reader not installed
Categories in the Commerce Control List
The Commerce Control List (CCL) is a list of controlled, dual-use items as published by the Commerce Department. The CCL is part of the Export Administration Regulations (EAR), which are in turn the implementing regulations for the Export Administration Act (as continued under the authority of the International Emergency Economic Powers Act) as modified by several otehr statutes. The nine categories listed here are the major divisions in the CCL.




Click here for a more detailed, alphabetical index to the CCL (PDF).


See also the ITAR, the Arms Export Control Act, and the CENTRAL guide to Security, Sanctions, and Compliance.


For dual-use items, see the Export Administration Regulations and the Commerce Control List.





Category 0
Nuclear Materials, Facilities & Equipment
(and Miscellaneous Items)

Category 1
Materials, Chemicals, Microorganisms, and Toxins

Category 2
Materials Processing

Category 3
Electronics Design, Development and Production

Category 4

Category 5
Part 1: Telecommunications
Part 2: Information Security

Category 6
Sensors and Lasers

Category 7
Navigation and Avionics

Category 8

Category 9
Propulsion Systems, Space Vehicles and Related Equipment