image displayed if flash reader not installed
North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)
This free trade agreement between Canada, Mexico, and the United States was negotiated in 1991-1992, modified and approved in 1993, and entered into force in 1994.




See also the North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation and the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation.


Click here to see the full text of the NAFTA implementing legislation (large PDF document).





Chapter 1, Objectives

Chapter 2, General Definitions

Chapter 3, National Treatment and Market Access for Goods

Chapter 4, Rules of Origin and Annex 401

Chapter 5, Customs Procedures

Chapter 6, Energy and Basic Petrochemicals

Chapter 7, Agriculture and Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

Chapter 8, Emergency Action

Chapter 9, Standards-Related Measures

Chapter 10, Government Procurement

Chapter 11, Investment

Chapter 12Cross-Border Trade in Services

Chapter 13Telecommunications

Chapter 14Financial Services

Chapter 15Competition Policy, Monopolies and State Enterprises

Chapter 16Temporary Entry for Business Persons

Chapter 17Intellectual Property

Chapter 18Publication, Notification and Administration of Laws

Chapter 19Review and Dispute Settlement in Antidumping and Countervailing Duty Matters

Chapter 20Institutional Arrangements and Dispute Settlement Procedures

Chapter 21Exceptions