image displayed if flash reader not installed
Categories in the United States Munitions List
The United States Munitions List (USML) is a list of controlled items as published by the State Department. The USML is part of the International Traffic in Arms Regulations (ITAR), which are in turn the implementing regulations for the Arms Export Control Act. The twenty categories listed here are the major divisions in the USML.



Click here to see the full USML (PDF).


See also the ITAR, the Arms Export Control Act, and the CENTRAL guide to Security, Sanctions, and Compliance.


For dual-use items, see the Export Administration Regulations and the Commerce Control List.





Category I
Firearms, Close Assault Weapons and Combat Shotguns

Category II
Materials, Chemicals, Microorganisms, and Toxins

Category III

Category IV
Launch Vehicles, Guided Missiles, Ballistic Missiles, Rockets, Torpedoes, Bombs and Mines

Category V
Explosives and Energetic Materials, Propellants, Incendiary Agents and Their Constituents

Category VI
Vessels of War and Special Naval Equipment

Category VII
Tanks and Military Vehicles

Category VIII
Aircraft and Associated Equipment

Category IX
Military Training Equipment

Category X
Protective Personnel Equipment

Category XI
Military Electronics

Category XII
Fire Control, Range Finder, Optical and Guidance and Control Equipment

Category XIII
Auxiliary Military Equipment

Category XIV
Toxicological Agents, Including Chemical Agents, Biological Agents, and Associated Equipment

Category XV
Spacecraft Systems and Associated Equipment

Category XVI
Nuclear Weapons, Design and Testing Related Items

Category XVII
Classified Articles, Technical Data and Defense Services Not Otherwise Enumerated

Category XVIII
Directed Energy Weapons

Category XX
Submersible Vessels, Oceanographic and Associated Equipment